Aboriginal Inquiry: Lifting All Learners

An Impact Assessment of the Aboriginal Enhancement Schools Network (AESN)

3.3.1 A culturally inclusive advisory board

The Principals of the AESN , along with their colleagues, Dr. Trish Rosborough and Sarah Cormode of the BC Ministry of Education Aboriginal Education Branch, initiated this study through their application to the federal government. As a part of their proposed assessment of the Network, they invited a group of key leaders from around the province to serve as an advisory group. Members of this group included: Dr. Paige Fisher (Vancouver Island University); Sarah Cormode (BC Ministry of Education, Aboriginal Education Branch); Debbie Leighton-Stephens (District Principal, Prince Rupert School District); Dr. Trish Rosborough (BC Ministry of Education); Gloria Raphael (Surrey School District, Aboriginal Education); Laura Tait (District Principal of Aboriginal Education, Nanaimo); Michelle Miller-Gauthier (Network leader, Vanderhoof); Terry Taylor (District Principal of Learning, Arrow Lakes); Donna Weaving (NOII /AESN program staff); Jo-Anne Chrona (Surrey School District). The work of these individuals was to guide the study design and to provide support to the primary researcher during the data gathering and analysis stages of the impact assessment.